Africa has been very strict in the past few months to contain the deadly coronavirus and has thus managed to flatten the curve to quite an extent. Several African nations have already been reopened for travellers and many are planning to reopen soon with proper safety measures in place. The countries that have already been reopened for international tourists include Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Liberia, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, and Tunisia.

All countries allowing entry to tourists are also taking strict precautionary measures to curb the spread of the Coronavirus further. In most of these countries, it has been deemed necessary for tourists to take COVID tests in their countries and produce a negative result to be able to enter the borders of the country. If tested positive they would have to spend 14 days in the government quarantine facility on arrival. The test must not be more than 72 hours old. Most countries have also made it mandatory to wear masks, get their temperature checked on arrival and get a COVID test done on arrival at the airport.

Other countries which are planning to reopen for international tourists soon are Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Sudan, and Zambia.